I am doing the Polar Bear Plunge.

When you live in Minnesota, you need to embrace the cold winter. Otherwise those 3-4 months can seem so unbearable. My winter will most definitely be exciting.

image from securian.com

In January I will be running the Securian Winter Run 5k! This will be fun! I did it last year as my first 5k. I spent the rest of 2010 working on getting better at running. I feel confident with this 5k and will spend January preparing. I also have a few friends joining me and even doing the half marathon! Way to go! Also, this is a part of the 125th Saint Paul Winter Carnival, so there will be many activities happening in downtown Saint Paul!

 
February will be a cold month and I’ll be jumping into frigid Minnesota waters with an awesome team for the Polar Bear Plunge. The Polar Bear Plunge is a fund-raiser for the Minnesota Special Olympics. I am so excited to be a part of this with so many great people. People keep telling me I am crazy for doing this but I never second guessed it. I am thankful that I have the ability to be able to do this for those who cannot.
 
 
 
 
If I surpass my $400 fundraising goal then I will plunge in a bikini!  What a great way to raise money for the Special Olympics!
 
AND in March I will be in the wonderful town of New Ulm, Minnesota for BOCKFEST.  If you’re wondering what Bockfest is… I am also “wondering”. I have heard a little about it, a celebration of a German town and the Schell’s Brewing Company in town. All I know is that I’ll be heading down with a friend and we’ll be dressed up in the ultimate Minnesota outfit, Sorel boots and bomber hats with blaze orange jackets.
 
Keeping busy in Minnesota in the winter is key. In fact, I think I am doing more this winter than I did the past summer. I like to spend my summers relaxing and going to the cabin on the weekend with no big plans.
 
Happy Minnesota Winter!
 
Leah
 
Leave a Reply

