Impressed.

I recently came across an article in Ad Age online regarding the Minneapolis-based program, The Brand Lab. {article here}

Background on The Brand Lab

Our Mission: To create opportunity in the marketing industry for students from diverse cultural and socioeconomic backgrounds. {info found here}

 

My backgroud and passion for creating better opportunities for inner-city high school students

As an alumni of an inner-city school (Arlington High School class of 2005), I was immediately drawn to this program when I read about it. In my experience, inner-city high schools tend to focus on graduating kids from high school and nothing beyond. There are usually additional programs that college-driven students need to get involved in to find the support they don’t get at home. For example, I come from a single-parent home and my single-parent is not college educated. The likelyhood of me even attending college was low, coupled with the fact that I was from the inner-city and attended a public school. I felt as though I had to jump through hoops and hurdles just to even THINK about college. Luckily, I was involved with Admission Possible, which is amazing program, and I was able to go start my college career off at St. Kate’s. But, I digress… back to the topic at hand!

By engaging these students, not only are we opening students up to the local advertising community but we are showing them first hand what it takes to create everything from start to finish of an ad campaign. These are things I did not learn until recently when I’ve taken college-level courses. These students have such a great advantage at their fingertips. They learn about The Media Mix, Ethics in Marketing and Advertising, Brands and Branding and Print/Radio/TV Spot Production, to name a few things. With experienced professionals at their side, the students will be able to dig deep into these topics and learn hands-on about marketing and advertising.

I am excited to say that I will be volunteering with The Brand Lab for this spring semester! I stepped up to the plate and emailed to see how I can get involved. I absolutely love marketing and advertising and am an advocate for young adults that need support and a mentor.

I will be sure to keep an update on the blog of this spring’s adventure with The Brand Lab.

Stay warm!

Leah

 

One thought on “Impressed.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Impressed. | ::uncharted:: -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

