Inspired

This morning I attended the 2011 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday Breakfast in Minneapolis.

Everybody can be great.  Because anybody can serve.  You don’t have to have a college degree to serve.  You don’t have to make your subject and your verb agree to serve…. You don’t have to know the second theory of thermodynamics in physics to serve.  You only need a heart full of grace.  A soul generated by love.  Martin Luther King, Jr.

To say I am inspired is an understatement. To be in a room with such noble and wonderful community and national leaders was an honor. Not only was Minnesota Governor Mark Dayton there, but Senators Amy Klobuchar and Al Franken, Minneapolis Mayor R.T. Rybak, Saint Paul Mayor Chris Coleman and many others.

The event was wonderful and inspiring. Inspiring is the only word I can think of to describe how I felt after I left. The keynote speaker was Cory Booker, Mayor of Newark, New Jersey. Besides having a big crush on Mr. Booker, I am in awe of him. After hearing him speak, I was almost in tears. He brings a sense of homegrown good-guy to the stage.

Newark, NJ Mayor Cory Booker

Since I have such a fondness for Mr. CB, I decided to introduce myself. I walked right up to the head table and said, “Hi Mayor Booker, my name is Leah Zins and I am a big fan of yours.”  He indicated that he remembers me from Twitter and called me his biggest Twitter fan in the Twin Cities (truth). I then pointed to Jillian and Ella, who were standing a few hundred feet away and said they were my friends and he waved. What we said in the next few minutes will be a blur to me, as I was in awe of his ability to captivate. He has a sense of power that is so… great. I was determined to get a photo with him but didn’t have a camera at that moment. I explained how I’d love a photo with him and he said to find him after the event. Long story short, my ride wanted to leave ASAP to avoid traffic and I missed the photo opp. My friend Jillian tweeted me later to inform me she got his photo and HE ASKED WHERE I WAS. This is a big deal 🙂

Back to the point.

The speakers, the event, the day were all inspiring to me. Mayor Booker emphasized the call to service and how YOU can change the world, just by doing something. But you have to do it! You have to get involved! I completely agree with this.

“In life, it is never the big battle, the big moment, the big speech, the big election. That does not change things. What changes things is every day, getting up and rendering small acts of service and love beyond that what’s expected of you or required of you.” – Cory Booker, Mayor of Newark, NJ

I am so grateful I was able to attend the event representing my employer. I took away so much information and left feeling compelled and inspired to change the world. I’m excited to see where my excitement will bring me.

What inspires you? What motivates you?

lmz

Note: If you want to watch the entire program, it is available online here.

5 thoughts on “Inspired

  1. I am impressed that you introduced yourself so boldly. Very nice. I have not had the opportunity to hear Mr. Booker speak, but you piqued my interest yesterday tweeting and I started following him on twitter because of it. He then followed me back> Which means he has a good team working for him, or he’s crazy obsessed on twitter. Either option is a plus.

    • He is actually pretty famous for doing his own Twitter stuff. Which is why I about died when he a) followed me and b) DM’d me! At this point he doesn’t have people doing his tweets and from my “research” he doesn’t have a PR person either. I re-watched his speech last night for a little pick me up. He will be one to follow!

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Inspired | ::uncharted:: -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

