Social Science Night at the Science Museum of MN

 

Last night I attended the inaugural Social Science event at the Science Museum of Minnesota! I heard about the event via Twitter and went to the website to check it out. It seemed like a great event and I knew I wanted to attend!

The purpose of the evening, in my opinion, was to engage and entertain adults (21+) at the science museum. The museum was closed off to anyone under 21. We were able to explore the exhibits and different things the museum has to offer without children running around. They had drinks available at cash bars throughout as well as a couple of appetizers. The cafe was also open to purchase food.

I had a blast at the event. They had the option to see the King Tut exhibit, check out the omnitheater (both at additional cost), a photobooth, a DJ and dance floor and a “shadow pong” station!

For the first time of the event, I think it was a success! Everyone appeared to be having a great time. Occasional searches of #socialscience on Twitter showed what everyone was up to & tweeting about.

I think there are definite areas for improvement. The lines for everything were really long. I found that most of my evening was spent waiting in line. I didn’t MIND as I was socializing. I think next time they should have more stations. Since it was the first event, they may not have been able to rope in local food venues to cater and offer free samples. Now that the first event ended and went well, I think they could reach out to restaurants and show them how successful it was and any good restaurant would probably want to join!

It seems it will be a quarterly event, with each one themed after the current exhibit. Last night’s theme was “Party with the Pharohs”. The next one should be in late June and the outdoor patio will be open. I can’t wait to spend a summer night drinking some wine on the patio, overlooking the Mississippi River and downtown Saint Paul.

Social Media at the Science Museum of MN

The Science Museum of MN also does a great job with social media! They were interacting with those tweeting about the event and responding when people were asking when the next event was. On their website, they have the links to all of their different social media sites.

*note, I did not receive compensation for my personal review of the social science event. just wanted to share my experiences and spread the word!

Leave a Reply

