Steve Jobs: Compelling and Inspiring

I spent the evening disconnected from the world, having dinner with a former classmate and friend I haven’t seen in a while. I opened my laptop when I got home, logged into TweetDeck and saw a tweet that said “RIP Steve Jobs”. I knew he had recently resigned from his CEO position at Apple and that he was ill, but I was blissfully unaware that his death would be so soon.

Steve Jobs was a leader. He was inspiring. He conquered. I’ve never met Steve Jobs. In fact, I wasn’t even too familiar with his story other than that I knew he dropped out of college and made it a very far from where he came from.

Immediately on every social network I’m connected with were Steve Jobs quotes and links to videos and speeches he has given. I clicked on a link for the commencement speech he gave for Stanford University in 2005. I sat down and spent the next 30 minutes watching the speech while pausing to Google different facts and figures about his life.

Although the entire speech is compelling and inspiring, I was drawn to the following quote from Steve:

 Sometimes life hits you in the head with a brick. Don’t lose faith. I’m convinced that the only thing that kept me going was that I loved what I did. You’ve got to find what you love. And that is as true for your work as it is for your lovers. Your work is going to fill a large part of your life, and the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work. And the only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle. As with all matters of the heart, you’ll know when you find it. And, like any great relationship, it just gets better and better as the years roll on. So keep looking until you find it. Don’t settle.

You’ve got to find what you love. Simple. In your career, in your relationships. Don’t settle. Don’t settle. It seems easier said than done. You can get comfortable in your career, thus never stepping outside of your own boundaries or pushing yourself to go above and beyond. I am blessed to be genuinely happy in my career path and, like Steve, have taken an odd route to get there. Steve says, “You have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future.” I wouldn’t be where I was today if I didn’t fail a few times, get back up, dust off and continue down the road.

Steve, you are an inspiration to many and you will not soon be forgotten. Your legacy will live on forever.

2 thoughts on “Steve Jobs: Compelling and Inspiring

Leave a Reply

