Giving Thanks

What are your Thanksgiving plans?

I am starting my Thanksgiving this evening, picking up my cousin Rachel. Rachel is a very active and busy 15 year old, she doesn’t have a lot of time for her old cousin. I’m glad we get to spend this time together! We will do some last minute Thanksgiving food shopping (what a nightmare) and bum around a bit. I a foresee manicures in our future followed by an early bedtime.

Tomorrow, bright and early, we will be downtown Minneapolis for the Lifetime Fitness Turkey Day 5k. I haven’t been training so I’m not going to be finishing in a record time but it will be much warmer than last year’s race. Last year was apparently the coldest Thanksgiving in 20 years, it was bad! I’m looking forward to that. Rachel loves running and I love seeing her be so excited to “come to the big city” and run a race.

After that, I’ll try to sneak in a nap and some coffee before going to grandma’s. I’ve been put in charge of bringing rolls. Clearly, grandma knows my level of culinary skills. I’m also bringing some Muddy Paws Cheesecake!  It has been difficult keeping a cheesecake in my freezer for four days but it WILL make it to grandma’s. Being the oldest grandkid has its perks in that I have 11 younger cousins who are closer in age than I am with any of them. It’s fun watching them play and laugh.

For the first time in five years, I have the day after Thanksgiving off! I’m not sure if I will head out to the mall to shop or just relax but I will be having a relaxing day in general. I will go to my new favorite Friday night hang out, Moksha Yoga, for some Karma yoga.

I’m very thankful for the opportunities I’ve had, both professionally and personally, and I look forward to celebrating with my family. Enjoy the day of rest!

Leah

 

One thought on “Giving Thanks

Leave a Reply

