The beauty of the city

Minneapolis

I pride myself on being a St. Paul girl, but sometimes I do find myself on the other side of the river in Minneapolis.

Last night I went for a lovely and long walk in Minneapolis. We went from the Stone Arch Bridge, along the river, over the Hennepin Avenue bridge before stopping in Northeast Minneapolis for a late dinner. It was a beautiful evening and I know I had to cancel my plans of laundry to enjoy it, and I’m so glad I did.

Social Media Crisis Simulation

Another reason I love the Twin Cities, besides their general beauty, is the plethora of professional associations we have. I’m a member and quite active with Ad Fed MN, but tomorrow I’m attending my first MIMA (Minnesota Interactive Marketing Association) event. It is called, “Secrets Revealed: Simulating a Social Media Crisis”. The FireBell Team from Weber Shandwick Minneapolis will be sharing their award-winning social media crisis simulation platform. Wait, social media crisis simulation platform?!?!  I am a self-proclaimed social media addict, and being able to use it in a professional capacity is my ultimate dream job. So it makes total sense that learning how to use it in a CRISIS situation will be beneficial. I’m looking forward to attending the event and learning. Look forward to a post on that shortly!

Crush It

I’m almost halfway through the book “Crush It” by Gary Vaynerchuk. So far, I’m loving the book. After I picked up the book I came across this TED Talk from Gary and immediately dove into the book. I’ve been inspired a few times and am ready to hit the ground running to CRUSH IT, the Leah Zins way.

Toastmasters

I’ve taken on a leadership role in my Toastmasters club, Securian Toastmasters #560! I’m very excited to be the VP of Membership and Public Relations. The two roles go hand-in-hand so when there wasn’t any interest from other club members I jumped at the chance to combine the roles. A couple of the things I’ll be doing:

  • Putting together the quarterly newsletter
  • Promoting the club within the organization I work for
  • Meeting with interested people and sharing the benefits of the club
  • Setting new members up with mentors

I’ve experienced a ton of personal and professional growth since joining Toastmasters in July 2011, and the opportunity to share that with potential members will be so much fun!

Whether it happens in St. Paul or Minneapolis, I’m grateful to live in a metro area with so many different clubs and organizations that thrive on their members involvement and provide so many opportunities to learn and grow.

Leave a Reply

