Help me out for Grandma’s birthday

We all have that special lady in our lives. The one that spoiled you a litte more than your mom did, that slipped you an extra $20 when you went back to your college dorm after a weekend with her and just made you feel like the most special girl in the whole world. My special lady loves shoes, dancing, going to church, praying, cats, the City of Saint Paul, Judy Garland records, cleaning, cleaning up after her eldest granddaughter, singing, sewing and so much more.  Grandma Cathy is having a milestone birthday on Sunday, November 25th. She is turning 70.

Grandma Cathy is very dear to my heart. She worked her tail off for her entire life to get to where she is today. I moved in with her when I was 15 and she raised me. I believe she is responsible for turning me in to the bright young woman I am today.

Leah & Grandma // 2008

She is retired, but not bored. Between volunteering, rollerskating, dancing, karaoke, taking art classes, taking kickboxing classes, traveling and adopting a (hyper) dog… she leads an exciting and active life. She is not an ordinary woman, which is why she deserves an extraordinary surprise for her 70th birthday.

Catherine // December 1961

Can I use my network of friends/colleagues/strangers to have Grandma receive 70 birthday cards in the mail? 

Here is how you can help me.

  • Get a postcard, card or USPS-approved mailing document.
  • Write a little note on whatever you find. Wish Grandma Cathy a very happy birthday and don’t forget a stamp. 
  • Mail it on Wednesday November 21st to:

Grandma Cathy

1304 DeSoto Street

Saint Paul, MN 55130

 
  • Watch my Twitter feed for updates on Grandma’s social birthday experiment. I’ll also post a re-cap blog to share how it worked and some photos.

THANK YOU for helping me make Grandma Cathy’s milestone birthday a fun memory.

Also, don’t tell her I told you she’s 70, she doesn’t like being reminded that she is “old”.

If you have any questions, please email me at leahzins (at) gmail.com or tweet me at @LeahSTP.

14 thoughts on “Help me out for Grandma’s birthday

  1. Pingback: Buy your stamps and get ready, it is almost time to mail Grandma’s card! | Leah's Blog

  2. Pingback: “My Grandma was the Victim…” | My Blog Women in Jail

  3. Pingback: A Young Girl makes a Plea for her Grandma, now 65 Years old, served 25 Years in Prison: please, read and act! « www.HumansinShadow.wordpress.com

  4. Hi there! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to
    give a quick shout out and say I genuinely
    enjoy reading your blog posts. Can you recommend any other
    blogs/websites/forums that cover the same topics?

    Appreciate it!

  5. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your website. It’s a very
    easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit more often.
    Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?
    Exceptional work!

  6. The other day, while I was at work, my sister stole my apple ipad
    and tested to see if it can survive a thirty foot drop, just so she can
    be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now destroyed and she has 83 views.

    I know this is entirely off topic but I had
    to share it with someone!

  7. Hey! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering
    which blog platform are you using for this site?
    I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with
    hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  8. Have you ever thought about including a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is important and all. Nevertheless imagine if you added some great photos
    or videos to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is
    excellent but with images and clips, this website could definitely be one of the very best in
    its field. Superb blog!

Leave a Reply

